Deadlines, deadlines, all around. The sky is raining projects and they’re all falling on me! The pile of books and papers on the floor and on the tables is already a foot deep. It’s getting hard to work through. I can hardly work because my mind is so full of the things I need to get done.

I know, I’m being a little bit melodramatic, but some weeks are like that. The key is not to get overwhelmed, but just keep plugging away and getting things done. Remember the 80/20 rule. There comes a point on any project when you have to just call it quits and move on to something else. In most cases absolute perfection is not necessary. It breaks my perfectionist heart to say so, but it’s true.

Another technique that I’m finding increasingly useful is putting off procrastination. It can be easy to put things off for later, but there are a lot of things that are better done right away, especially if they are small and easy to mark off the list. So switch things up a bit, leave the procrastination for later and get things done now.

I don’t particularly enjoy having my schedule so full that the only thing I do from the time I get up until the time I go to bed is work. Sometimes it’s the only choice though.

Any tips on dealing with an incredibly full schedule? Let’s hear them in the comments.

